## Proceedings of the 2<sup>nd</sup> Annual General Body Meeting of Indian Society of Genetics and Plant Breeding – Hyderabad Chapter held through hybrid mode on 28.2.2024

At ICAR-Indian Institute of Rice Research, Rajendranagar, Hyderabad, the 2<sup>nd</sup> Annual General Body Meeting (AGM) of Indian Society of Genetics and Plant Breeding – Hyderabad Chapter held through hybrid mode on 28.2.2024 at 3.0 PM. Dr. M Balram, Secretary, Hyderabad Chapter welcomed Dr. S. Sudheer Kumar, President (Hyderabad Chapter), Dr. RM Sundaram, Director, ICAR-IIRR, Hyd, Dr. Tara Satyavathi, Director, ICAR-IIMR, Hyd, Dr. Neeraja Prabhakar, Vice Chancellor, Horticultural University, Hyd, Dr. Vijaya Kumar, from Private Seed Industry and members of the ISGPB - Hyderabad Chapter. Dr. Sudheer Kumar gave opening remarks, in which he stressed that AGM can be conducted in presence of 25% of the members instead of 50% to take any policy decisions; and the house had approved the decision. Dr. Balram informed the house about the activities of the Chapter for last two years, in which he told that 4 online lectures from eminent persons and one panel discussion was conducted. Dr. MV Nagesh Kumar, Treasurer of the Chapter has given the financial report of the expenditure and balance amount available at present. Dr. Balram informed the house that the election of the new executive body will be conducted along with the National level ISGPB elections as per the request of ISGPB, New Delhi. He also announced that four awards viz., Best PG Thesis Award (Genetics and Plant Breeding), Best Ph.D. Thesis Award (Genetics and Plant Breeding), Best Young Scientist Award (Scientists below 40 years in public Sector), Best Scientist Award (Breeders working in Pvt. Sector) and Life Time Achievement Award (Scientists upto retirement in public sector) will be constituted at Hyderabad Chapter level based on the sponsorship from the private seed companies or through CSR funding. Members of the house has given various suggestions about the constitution of awards especially from Dr. Tara Satyavathi, Dr. Raman Sundaram, Dr. Sudheer Kumar, Dr. Balram and Dr. Neeraja Prabhakar on which thorough discussion was made and were taken positively by the members. At the end, Dr. SV Sai Prasad, Principal Scientist, ICAR-IIRR, Hyd gave vote of thanks to all the executive committee and members of the ISGPB Hyderabad Chapter.



